fbpx

PT Thoughts: Hannah Kirkman

In this month’s edition of PT Thoughts we are going to learn a bit more about one of the PT’s in our Apex clinicHannah Kirkman, PT.

Was there an experience that led you to become a PT?

There was not one experience that I can point to that led me to this career, and I did take a bit of a circuitous path to get here! I have a Bachelor of Arts in International Relations and Spanish, but realized quickly after graduating that the desk life wasn’t for me. Growing up in a healthcare family, I have caregiving in my DNA. I made the leap from liberal arts to lab coats, quitting my job and entering a post-baccalaureate program. I decided I wanted a career in healthcare where I could spend time with patients and make a true change. My older brother, a pain management physician, recommended that I investigate the world of rehab (OT, SLP, PT). I  fell in love with PT! Being a cheerleader, advocate, friend, ally, and healthcare provider for my patients is challenging and rewarding. 

What is your favorite thing to treat and why?

I have always had an interest in treating pelvic health patients, but it wasn’t until my own pregnancy that I really pursued the specialization. I love working with peripartum patients! Although this life cycle event is full of joy, it can also be difficult to navigate if one is experiencing any type of pain. We get to know our patients on such a personal level, which makes me invested in the process. It is an honor to be a part of the recovery process for so many women! 

Where are you from?

I grew up in Lewisville, NC, the youngest of 3.  I ventured to New England for my undergraduate career and received a Bachelor of Arts from Tufts University. After freezing my behind off, I moved to Washington, D.C. for several years. That’s where I met my husband, Tim, who followed me back to NC for grad school (Go Heels!). We’ve been in NC for 7 years and couldn’t be happier! We have a rambunctious 1.5 year old daughter and a sweet pup who keep us busy. 

What are some of your favorite Hobbies/Activities?

If I’m not working, you can probably find me somewhere chasing my toddler and little dog around. I also love doing anything outdoors! In college I did a 30-day backpacking and wilderness canoeing course with NOLS (National Outdoor Leadership School), where I learned invaluable skills for environmental stewardship, leadership, risk management, and safety in outdoor activities. Since then, my love for outdoor exploration has continued. From hiking and camping to gardening in my yard, I’m there!

Related Posts

Best Physical Therapy Website

Recent News

PT Thoughts: Brandon Langworthy
July 26, 2021
PT Thoughts: Caroline Trezona
May 16, 2021
PT Thoughts: Greg Hogan
April 26, 2021

Categories